For when your heart hurts.

“Come all ye weary and ye broken,
come to the table of the Lord,
come sing the song of the forgiven,
come lay your burden on the word.

Come and find peace,
everyone needs a little rest,
everyone needs a little joy,
and a song to sing in the darkest night.

And life even when it gets you down,
hope will turn it all around,
but love is the greatest of these,
everyone needs a little.”

-Kari Jobe

This post has nothing to do with food, cooking, innovations or social media, but blogging is a good release for me. Here goes.

Happiness can be so elusive sometimes. Amidst all the stress, homework, studying and just life in general, you can so easily lose sight of the things that really matter. Friends – caring about them and supporting them. Family – keeping in touch and calling mom when you need someone who’ll listen. Yourself – making sure your heart’s light doesn’t flicker out and die. And finally and most importantly, God – just talking to him. That’s what He wants from us.

I’ve been making my way through Captivating, and it’s one of the most difficult things I’ve ever had to do. I cry all the way through it because everything’s so true. It’s quite ridiculous sometimes.

Aside from that, I’ve picked up my Bible after too long. I had a particularly rough day, and it just seemed logical. I didn’t even know where to start… but eventually got to Psalm. Just the word – Psalm – it just sounds so peaceful and full of hope. My Bible has these headings for all the psalms, so it made it easier to find just what I needed. It helped. Really helped. It was so strange that the things we’re going through right now happened so far back in time as well. The same feelings were experienced. Everything.

Crazy.

On another note, my roommate recently made me put Kari Jobe’s CD on my iTunes. I have to say, she’s pretty inspiring (and I don’t listen to a lot of Christian music). Especially “Everyone Needs A Little.” Something about it makes my heart feel a little better, and, on particularly rough days, causes tears to sting my eyes. But that’s ok. Crying’s a good thing. If I didn’t cry, I’d be ridiculously wound up all the time from suppressed emotions. I’d go insane!

So tonight, my heart hurts a little. I started out listening to other music, but migrated to Kari Jobe and decided to open my Bible. Here’s what I found:

“God, save me,
because the water has risen to my neck.
I’m sinking down into the mud,
and there is nothing to stand on.
I am in deep water,
and the flood covers me.
I am tired from calling for help;
my throat is sore.
My eyes are tired from waiting
for God to help me.”

-Psalm 69:1-3

This section is titled “A Cry For Help.” We all experience this. We all cry for help. We all struggle. We just have to learn that God hears our prayers and sees our struggles. We just have to keep a little faith.

“Be encouraged, you who worship God.
The Lord listens to those in need
and does not look down on captives.”

-Psalm 69:32-33

~ by jenniferlynnewilliams on September 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
