…why?

“There’s a darkness upon you that’s flooded in light.
In the fine print, they tell you what’s wrong and what’s right.
And it flies by day, and it flies by night,
and I’m frightened by those who don’t see it.”
-The Avett Brothers

The person: Jennifer, a Junior Journalism major at Lee University.

The question: Why am I doing this?

The answer: I could just be pretty straightforward and say, “Because I have to for a class,” but that doesn’t really express why people, in general, blog. It’s important, it gets the word out and it provides a more personal outlook on things.
My title, “Head full of doubt… road full of promise” comes from a song by The Avett Brothers. It resonated with me to the point of becoming the title of my blog because most people don’t think what they write is interesting enough to catch a reader’s eye, myself included at times. In reality, though, we don’t ever fully know who will become infatuated with our writing and crave more. In essence, we have “head[s] full of doubt” and a “road full of promise” when it comes to our online presence.
I’d like people to read this and think “Hm, maybe I could do something like this.” If I could spark that interest in just one person, I would consider this blog to be a success.

The end: Yes, I did create my WordPress for my Innovation & Social Media class, but I’m taking it as an opportunity to become more familiar with the process of blogging and simply write more. When you write online for yourself, you have a bit of free reign, and more people should take advantage of this opportunity. Nobody is there (initially) to tell you “what’s wrong and what’s right,” you get to decide for yourself.

~ by jenniferlynnewilliams on August 26, 2010.

Leave a comment